Purposive Rambling

the journey is the reward.

President Obama’s been holding out on us.

with one comment

Apparently, he has a trick up his sleeve with this healthcare reform – a new part of the plan that has yet to be announced. I got to experience it first-hand, and I thought I’d let you in on it. Let me explain.

By all objective measures, I should have woken up feeling pretty crappy today. Yesterday was a really long day. By the time I was heading to bed – which was a little late compared to my normal bed time – I was feeling head- and neck-achy. While trying to fall asleep I started thinking about all the things that I need to accomplish this semester, and I started feeling really stressed out. I fluffed my pillow and put on my eye mask, but I was pretty sure I was going to wake up feeling like I needed more sleep and potentially having a killer headache. That’s usually what happens when all of these factors collide.

But instead, I woke up feeling great and ready to tackle the day. And I have President Obama to thank.

He visited me in my sleep! In my dreams, of course. But that was enough. In my dream, not entirely unlike real life, I had a crush on Obama (maybe not quite as big as Obama Girl’s crush). And I was not shy about it at all. At the beginning of the dream I was sitting on some bleachers with a bunch of other people watching him run around a track. I decided that I wanted to get an autograph, and luckily there were no secret-service agents in my dream. So I ran down and got his attention and held out the bottom of my shirt for him to sign.

Apparently, my dream version of Obama was a huge flirt! I’m pretty sure even my dream-self didn’t really think that Obama was actually into me – it wasn’t that kind of dream. But I was happy enough to have him pretend for a little while. Like the class act that he is, instead of just signing the bottom of my shirt, he wrote all over it – mostly the chest area. (By the way, I do find it a bit disturbing that my dream about interacting with the President is of him acting like a 13 year old boy, in case you were wondering.)

Anyway, the dream continued for awhile longer, but I can’t remember many details. We hung out a bit at my house, we chatted, we laughed. I think Jon may have been around somewhere in the background – a bit like Doug in the Flight of the Conchords tv series. And then I woke up feeling happy and refreshed!

To be fair, I doubt this new approach to healthcare will cure any real illnesses, but I think Obama’s really onto something when it comes to giving people a little pick-me-up. 😉

Written by Lisa

September 3, 2009 at 12:55 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Haha…picturing Obama writing on your chest definitely provided my morning laugh. Hopefully, the post-Obama dream euphoria will carry you through the day and he won’t let you down with a sudden crash and burn. As you know, with ObamaCare, it is very likely that you will face long lines to be able to have a dream like that again.

    Biscotti

    September 3, 2009 at 2:39 pm


Leave a Reply

