Purposive Rambling

the journey is the reward.

I learn something new every day.

leave a comment »

Today I learned something about myself. I learned that I don’t know how to prepare tofu. We decided to have stir-fry this week, and I thought I’d give tofu another try. Last time I tried to make some it didn’t go very well, but I thought I had learned more about tofu since then. Plus, I had tofu recently at P.F. Chang’s and it was amazing. So I’ve been in the mood for it. But apparently I still don’t know as much as I need to know.

I got the extra firm. I drained the water. I pressed as much water out of it as I could using paper towels. I cubed it and soaked it in a marinade (soy sauce, ketchup, maple syrup, garlic, ginger, vinegar) for several hours. And then I heated some olive oil in a pan and tried to fry it up a bit. But as I was moving it around in the pan it was sticking and crumbling a bit. I felt like I was destroying it. So I moved it to a cookie sheet and put it under the broiler for awhile, hoping it would get a little crispy.

It was not crispy. It was squishy. And it didn’t taste very good. I thought it would taste like my yummy marinade, and I guess it did a little bit on the outside, but on the inside the tofu flavor won out. Poor Jon only ate one bite of his stir-fry, made a horrible face, and opted for leftover dal instead. I choked my dinner down but was not a fan. And now there’s a huge bowl of gross stuff in the fridge that I feel compelled to eat because I don’t want to waste it.

Help!!!

I need instruction. I need someone to share their tofu best practices with me. I’ve had great tofu, so I know it’s possible. But I don’t know how to get there from here. Did I not get enough of the liquid out? Do I need to soak it in broth? Does that really make much of a difference? Should I be baking or frying or something else? And so on.

Written by Lisa

July 23, 2009 at 2:48 am

Posted in Food, Fun Facts

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

