Purposive Rambling

the journey is the reward.

Summer teachin’ – had me a blast…happened so fast

with one comment

I am sitting at the library holding some open office hours for my students to go over their exams. I would be in my office, but the university stole it. Well, they reallocated it, I suppose. I hear that I have a new office, but it is in a weird location and I haven’t checked it out yet and don’t really feel comfortable making my students wander around to find me. But freshman orientation is going on, and apparently there’s some kind of freshman fair set up in the library. There are all sorts of booths set up and people buzzing about. It is way too noisy for me to find the focus that I need to have today to get things accomplished. And I’m not so sure that any of my students are even going to show up. So I’m getting a bit grumpy. I’d like some more coffee, but I’m trying to scale down on the caffeine. I fell off the wagon a bit this past weekend, but last week I was having just one cup of coffee in the morning and then a can of Diet Coke or a cup of black tea in the afternoon. Anyway, to add to the grumpy, I just realized that while I am still in the review-your-first-exam phase with my students, the second exam is next week! Which means that I need to spend a substantial amount of time this weekend writing an exam, along with grading their first papers, and hopefully going to the zoo. Blah.

Written by Lisa

July 21, 2009 at 3:06 pm

Posted in Grad School, Teaching

Tagged with , , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Summer session happens at a breakneck pace, doesn’t it? Hang in there!

    Biscotti

    July 22, 2009 at 6:43 pm


Leave a Reply

