Purposive Rambling

the journey is the reward.

I learn something new every day.

leave a comment »

I have heard that there’s some debate over whether or not we should still be using BMI (body mass index) to determine overweight and obesity – or whether we ever should have adopted this method in the first place. And today Slate talked all about it – along with some info about the development of this measure. What I didn’t know was that our waist circumference is now being considered as a better alternative to BMI for determining whether we’re at risk of disease (along with other behavioral risk factors). The problem is that I don’t have a tape measure! My BMI is “normal,” and I don’t have other risk factors, but maybe my waist is too big. Apparently it’s not supposed to be more than 35 inches for women. If women’s pants were sized like men’s I would already know. Of course, if I were a better woman I would have a sewing kit that included a tape measure. But alas, I will have to settle for not knowing. I’ll just assume all is good.

Written by Lisa

July 21, 2009 at 3:01 am

Posted in Fun Facts

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

