Purposive Rambling

the journey is the reward.

I learn something new every day.

leave a comment »

When I was a kid my mom would send us off to the school bus nearly every morning with “Study hard and learn lots!” I think it helped me develop a real love of learning. I wonder if she thought I’d still be following her advice at age 26. I’m going to try to post every day about something new that I’ve learned.

So for the first installment of this new series, did you know that fireflies light up to call and respond to potential mates?

And apparently, it’s the male fireflies that fly around in the air flashing their lights while the females sit on the ground watching for them. When I was growing up we would catch fireflies in jars and bring them in to use as night-lights. But I don’t remember it ever working. The fireflies wouldn’t light up. I assumed they were just upset, but maybe we caught all males and they knew there weren’t any females around to light up for.

Written by Lisa

July 20, 2009 at 1:41 am

Posted in Fun Facts, In the News

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

