Purposive Rambling

the journey is the reward.

Just noticin’

leave a comment »

Have you ever had one of those days where you feel more observant than usual? You know that there’s always so much going on around you that you can’t take it all in. You’re going to miss a lot of it. But some days you’re better than others about noticing the little things?

Well, I had one of those days on Tuesday. I had been cooped up in my office for most of the day getting ready for my first day of teaching. And around 2pm, I started heading south to campus. I first noticed how green everything was. Between the rain we’ve had recently and the bright sun we’ve seen for most of this week, everything was looking really alive. It probably helped that I haven’t been getting out much lately either, so it had been awhile since I’d seen trees and grass. As I continued to drive, a few more things caught my attention. So I thought I’d share.

  • A traffic light go berserk for a couple seconds – It was green as I was driving up the hill toward it, and then it suddently became a flashing red, and by the time I reached it, it was green again!
  • A grungy-looking teenage boy with a skateboard getting patted down by a police officer at a gas station – My gut reaction was that the kid was getting harrassed for skateboarding and wearing his pants a little too low.
  • A concrete mixer truck with a nice paint job – multi-colored polka-dots.
  • A car with “I ❤ Dad” and handprints painted on the back windshield – I bet that was fun to wake up to on Father’s Day.
Written by Lisa

June 26, 2009 at 1:29 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

