Purposive Rambling

the journey is the reward.

Running Update

leave a comment »

Well, the bad news is that I didn’t stick with the 10-week plan at all. In fact, I didn’t even stick with the first week of it. I have yet to run 4 miles. I also took almost a whole week off. I’ve also been running more on the treadmill than outside because it’s been rainy. The 10-week plan is a bit too ambitious for where I’m at right now with my running.

But, the good news is that I am getting there. I think I just need to have a few weeks of running consistently and seriously (which, for me, is a few miles a few times a week) before I start trying to increase my distance too much. This past week I ran 3 miles on Monday, 4 miles on Thursday (3 in the morning and 1 in the evening), and a 5K this morning.

That’s right, folks. I ran my first 5K! Well, technically it’s my second. I did the Jill Behrman 5K a few years ago, but I walked almost the entire race. So today was the first time I ran in a 5K race. And I truly ran almost the entire thing. I took a walking break for probably one-two tenths of a mile after about 2.5 miles.

It was the 3rd Annual Run for Ronald in Indy, benefitting the Ronald McDonald House. It started at 9am this morning, and thankfully, the weather was gorgeous. It was cool and breezy when we started and got a little uncomfortable just as I was finishing. We ran along the Canal, which is really pleasant and peaceful. There are fountains and ducks and murals (and only a little bit of trash here and there).

The best part about it was that Jon ran it with me. He agreed to do it awhile back when I was signing up, but he’s not really into running. I figured he’d end up walking most of it. But this last week or so he’s been doing the treadmill with me and was all ready to go today. We ran together for some parts of the race, and even when we weren’t side by side, we were in the same vicinity. And, we finished together, which was fun. I passed him right at the end and finished just a few seconds ahead of him.

The second best part about the race was that I ran it faster than I thought I would or could. I am a pretty solid 12-minute-miler. This past week, though, I tried increasing my speed a bit on the treadmill. And this morning, I ran the 5K in 34:14.2, giving me a pace of 11:03/mile. My place was 186/373. Not too shabby!

Written by Lisa

June 20, 2009 at 7:04 pm

Posted in Activities, Indianapolis

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

