Purposive Rambling

the journey is the reward.

Working Hard

leave a comment »

Teaching starts next week, so I am busy busy busy with planning classes and writing lectures and blah blah blah. It’s all coming along slowly but surely. Baby steps to the finish line. I love that I have such a nice office setup at home so I can work comfortably. And by comfortably, I mean without any concern for how I look, as evidenced by this photo I snapped yesterday when I realized how silly I looked:

IMG_1243

I did take some time out last night to get in touch with my domestic side, though. We had a banana that looked like it was about to disintegrate, so I decided to whip up some banana bread. I was feeling adventurous (or maybe just too lazy to look up a recipe), so I just threw some stuff in a bowl and stirred. It was some combination of mashed banana, flour, brown sugar, baking soda, baking powder, an egg, vanilla, cinnamon, and water. To make the cleanup easier, I used silicone muffin cups. As I was filling them, I realized that I don’t really know what the difference is between bread and muffins and for that matter, pancakes! Here I was thinking that I was making bread in muffin cups, but maybe I was making muffins! And couldn’t I just pour a bit in a pan and have pancakes? So I saved some batter and made a few little pancakes. They were great! And so was my bread/muffins! They were a little bland, but they seemed like the right consistency and tasted like banana. Good enough for me!

IMG_1254

IMG_1250

While I was playing in the kitchen, Jon put together our new DVD tower. As we were working on our respective tasks he said, “We’re really fulfilling some stereotypical gender roles tonight, huh?” Indeed.

IMG_1259

Written by Lisa

June 18, 2009 at 2:54 pm

Leave a Reply

