Purposive Rambling

the journey is the reward.

The start of year 27

leave a comment »

Apparently, my math skills aren’t too hot. I thought that turning 26 meant that I had lived 25 years and was starting on my 26th. Um, no. I have lived 26 years! That just doesn’t seem right. I am not ready to be starting year 27. But, here it is.

I actually had a really lovely birthday weekend. Jon really spoiled me.

Saturday we went to the Vintage Indiana wine festival. We sampled wines from the wineries we hadn’t tried before and from the wineries that we’ve tried before and liked. All of the sampling just confirmed what we already knew – that Winzerwald Winery, located in Bristow, Indiana, is our favorite. We stocked up on their Mai Wein, Reisling, Gluhwein, and Schweizer Spice. We didn’t do much else at the festival. Just walked around and listened to the music in the background. We also picked up a bottle of BBQ sauce from the Mild to Wild Pepper & Herb Co., which is located in Franklin, Indiana. We tried it as soon as we got home, and it is awesome! A little spicy, but not so much that you can’t taste it.

On Sunday night we got all fancy and went out to dinner at the Rathskellar. It was incredible. Although they offer a variety of dishes, we stuck with the German fare. I had the Schlacht Platte, which included a smoked pork chop with apples, raisins, walnuts, and herbs, a grilled bockwurst, sugar snap peas, and spaetzle noodles. The peas were a bit too cooked for my liking, but everything else was perfect. Jon had the Jaegerschnitzel, which was also very tasty. We also shared six sampler German beers. They were all pretty good, but my favorite was the Weihenstephaner Hefe Weisse. I typically prefer wheat beers.

3606958121_a7fef24315

So after dinner we went to see Wicked: The Untold Story of the Witches of Oz. I was so impressed by it! The story was really clever and more of a social commentary than I’d expected. And there were a lot of absolutely hilarious moments. Plus, the set and costumes and singing and dancing and acting were top-notch. It was great. After the show we enjoyed a leisurely walk home. As we approached Monument Circle, though, someone stopped us and said we couldn’t go through the circle because there was a private party going on. We ended up talking her into letting us go through, but who rents out the circle?! The city shuts it down from time to time for events, but I thought those events were always open to the public. I didn’t know private groups could have it shut down and closed off to pedestrian traffice. Apparently, the Million Dollar Round Table (MDRT) can. I’m really curious about how much they had to pay to do that.

Jon was able to take yesterday off, and we just hung out at home most of the day. He did sneak away for a little bit, though, and brought me home a carrot cake and sunflowers.

3610362959_5a6210356a

3611174270_aac512aed2

The cake is from Shapiro’s, and it is the best carrot cake I have ever had. In fact, it’s probably the best any kind of cake I’ve ever had. I had two big pieces yesterday! As a side note, I’ve had that pink vase since my 16th birthday. It came with the first flowers Jon ever got me – a dozen yellow roses.

I also got a surprise call from my two year old niece last night. She sang Happy Birthday to me and then told Jon all about her kite-flying adventures. Adorable.

Now my birthday’s over. Time to get back to work. Until next Saturday when I’m doing round 2 of my birthday celebration with some friends from school. Can’t wait!

Written by Lisa

June 9, 2009 at 4:54 pm

Leave a Reply

