Purposive Rambling

the journey is the reward.

A year later, all is well.

with 3 comments

One year ago today, we bought our first house. We searched for several months and visited ten to twenty houses before we saw this one. We both loved it. It had charm. It had a story. And it was in the heart of a great little town, Franklin, Indiana. We were so excited to live there and be part of that community. We made plans to renovate several parts of the house to make it a bit more modern. There was a nice little backyard where I hoped to start a garden. There was a great front porch that had a view of the courthouse. There was a running trail and park right down the street. It was exactly what we were looking for.

2412849319_9e4e20dd3b

We spent two nights in that house. My parents came up to help us move in. Jon helped my dad install a new shower and sink while my mom and I started painting. It had been raining that whole week, and on June 7th, we woke up to several inches of water in the basement. Water came in the basement of the house I grew up in from time to time, though, so I knew this wasn’t something to get too concerned about. We had a sump pump, and it was going. The rain would stop and it would catch up. No big deal. Throughout the morning the water was steadily rising, but not so much that we were alarmed by it. And then all of a sudden, I looked out the window and the backyard was flooded. It was so shocking to see. It just seemed to come out of nowhere. My dad was able to run out and move our car to the top of the hill down the street, and by the time he was coming back the water was rushing across the street hard enough that pavement was being peeled up. Within a matter of minutes, the basement was full of water. We moved as many boxes as we could to the attic, and then we went up to the attic and waited for the rescue crew.

2576000015_d004049126

After a very scary boat ride across the street/river, we sat with our neighbors for hours until another boat came to take us out of the area. Here’s a view of the front of our house at the height of the flood:

2576010969_1e4a0fe70e

This past year has been full of inconvenience, tears, stress, and just a rollercoaster of emotions. It’s been rough. But luckily, we had flood insurance, and financially, we’ve come out on the other side. We just recently were able to pay off the mortgage with insurance and donate the house to the city of Franklin. But, we’re done with homeownership for awhile. We’re now renting in downtown Indianapolis, and we love it. Yesterday there was a story about us on the front page of Johnson County’s newspaper, the Daily Journal, that sums up our “recovery” pretty well.

DJ 6.4.09_1

DJ 6.4.09_2

A few days ago, we were even able to enjoy watching a thunderstorm from our big eighth-floor windows. I started to feel a little sick once we heard on the news that there was flooding and hail damage up north. But it was empathy for others rather than personal worry about going through another disaster.

3590248055_d73468ea18

I’m curious about how I’m going to feel on Sunday. I still have this nagging, irrational concern in the back of my mind that maybe we’re cursed and something terrible is going to happen again on June 7th. Last summer we went to the Mt. Comfort Air Show, and I’d love to go again. But it’s this weekend, and I told Jon that I was afraid to go because a plane might crash if we’re there.

My birthday is on Monday, and since last year we didn’t really get to celebrate, Jon splurged and got us tickets to see Wicked on Sunday night. At first when we saw that we had great seats I was excited. But then I got a little nervous when I realized we were in the middle of a row and so far away from an exit because the place might burn down during the show if we’re there! Crazy, I know.

Anyway, this post is a lot longer than I’d planned. Mostly, I just wanted to say that a year later, here we are, moving on, all is well finally.

Written by Lisa

June 5, 2009 at 4:32 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. All really is well, HG. :X

    Hubs

    June 5, 2009 at 6:54 pm

  2. […] September 2 tags: decorating, emotions, flood, homeownership, house, painting, progress by Lisa Awhile back I wrote in length about the flooded-house nonsense that was my life for all of last year… Well, now that we’re all settled into our new apartment, I’m happy to say that the […]

  3. […] a comment » Although we were lucky enough to recover from the flood in March of this year, the rest of Franklin, Indiana is just now seeing some relief. The FEMA money that will allow the […]


Leave a Reply

