Purposive Rambling

the journey is the reward.

Week 1 Running Plan

with one comment

Now that I’ve decided to be serious about running, I figure I should have a goal and plan. I worry that if I’m not working toward something I won’t stick with it. So I found a few races that I’m going to try to run. A 5K later this month, a 10K in August, and a mini-marathon in November.

I’m going to (sort of) follow a 10-week training program for a mini, but since I have so much time to prepare for the one in November, I’ll probably take it a little easier to extend it a bit. When a week is particularly tough, I’m going to repeat the week’s plan instead of moving forward.

For week 1, I need to run 13 miles total. Here’s the breakdown with links to the routes I’ve planned.

Monday – 3 miles

Tuesday – rest

Wednesday – 3 miles

Thursday – 3 miles

Friday – rest

Saturday – 4 miles

Sunday – rest

Written by Lisa

June 1, 2009 at 11:19 pm

Posted in Activities

Tagged with , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] 2009 June 20 tags: 5K, race, running, training by Lisa Well, the bad news is that I didn’t stick with the 10-week plan at all. In fact, I didn’t even stick with the first week of it. I have yet to run 4 miles. I also took […]


Leave a Reply

