Purposive Rambling

the journey is the reward.

Indianapolis Dining

leave a comment »

We’ve been living downtown for almost two months now. We haven’t done too much exploring yet, with the exception of dining. Here’s a list of the places we’ve tried:

Rock Bottom Restaurant & Brewery – I had the hickory burger with fries. The burger was tasty but messy. The fries were terrible. Cold and maybe freezer-burnt.

Alcatraz Brewing Co. – We’ve been twice. The first time I had the Hoosier sandwich. It was okay, but weird. If you’re a fan of coleslaw, you might like it. The second time I had the Chop-Chop salad. It was just okay. There was too much dressing, and it just overpowered the other flavors. I also tried their wheat beer. It was good. I would have it again.

Champps – I had the Greek Chicken Salad. Just like Alcatraz – too much dressing.

Weber Grill – Smells better than it tastes. I had the ribs, and they were just ribs. Nothing too exciting. The baked beans were probably the highlight of the meal for me. I think it’s a bit overpriced.

Patachou – We had lunch here one day. I had a half turkey sandwich and a bowl of soup. It was fantastic.

Tata Cuban Cafe – I don’t remember the name of the dish I tried, but it had rice, green peppers, onions, shrimp, and an amazing sauce. I also had sweet plantains on the side that were incredible. We had a flan for dessert that was way too sweet, but maybe that’s just the way it is. It was my first ever flan.

Bazbeaux Pizza – We shared a pizza with sausage, green pepper, and onion. It was excellent. Very fresh vegetables, the crust was light and crispy, and the sauce tasted very natural and not oily. We will definitely go back and maybe even try one of their more “exotic” pizzas.

St. Elmo Steak House – I ate one of the biggest shrimp I have ever seen in the shrimp cocktail! The shrimp cocktail is quite an experience. I also had a bowl of soup, a ribeye steak, mashed potatoes, and a glass of Malbec from Argentina. It was all excellent. It was a very close runner-up to the best steak I’ve ever had, which was at Smith & Wollensky’s in Las Vegas.

McCormick & Schmick’s – I think I had a catfish dish. We’ve been here before, and you really can’t go wrong with anything. It’s a great seafood place, at least for a landlocked state.

Written by Lisa

May 12, 2009 at 8:09 pm

Leave a Reply

