Purposive Rambling

the journey is the reward.

But uh-oh those summer nights

with one comment

It’s week 1 of the summer term. I am realizing that the days of referring to it as “summer break” are over. Yes, my days are less structured than they are during the fall and spring semesters, but there is just as much work (if not more) to do over the summer as there is during the school year.

The only problem is that so far I’ve only accepted this in theory. Last semester was so busy, and now that it’s over, I just want to relax! I don’t really have much motivation to get these various projects done. The deadlines are so far away. Can’t I just take a little break?

Technically, I can take a break. I can procrastinate. Nobody’s breathing down my neck to get this stuff done. I could put it off for at least a couple weeks.

But, I know myself enough to know that a couple weeks will turn into a couple months, and then I’ll be scrambling and stressed and mad at myself for not working consistently throughout the summer.

So here’s my plan:

1. Make a list of all the things I want to accomplish this summer.

2. Divide each of the things on the list into mini-tasks with deadlines.

3. Work Monday-Friday during Jon’s work hours.

4. Leave evenings and weekends free.

It sounds so easy. And easy is good.

Written by Lisa

May 12, 2009 at 7:33 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] 2009 June 4 tags: cleaning, habits, organization, procrastination, summer, Work by Lisa My plan has not been working out too well. I’ve fallen back into my old habit of procrastinating. […]


Leave a Reply

