Purposive Rambling

the journey is the reward.

Winter storm causes massive Kentucky outage

leave a comment »

A foot of snow is no fun, but a thick layer of ice is obviously much more devastating.

My family has been without power for days now, and there’s no telling when they’ll get it restored. They live “in the sticks” and are not exactly at the top of the power company’s list.

I remember having to deal without power a few times as a kid during the winters, but it seems like the longest we ever went was three days. I don’t recall it being that bad because we had a wood-burning stove that we could all huddle around. I think more than anything we just had cabin fever.

I suppose my parents enjoy living in a rural area, but now that I have experienced living in more populated areas, I don’t think I could handle it. I would be so impatient in a situation like this.

Written by Lisa

January 30, 2009 at 1:25 pm

Posted in In the News

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

